Thursday and Friday - Reisverslag uit Gourdon, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu Thursday and Friday - Reisverslag uit Gourdon, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu

Thursday and Friday

Door: Rens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rens

03 Mei 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Gourdon

Thursday, 1st of May


This morning was a cold morning, though the sun was shining bright through my window. I didn't sleep very well so I was a bit tired. After I finished a light breakfast, I got to Clashfarquhar. 


My whole day would be at Clashfarquhar today, instead of the usual morning at the Bungalow. I spent the morning playing games with the residents and having little chats. As some people in the house suffer from Alzheimers, they asked the same question three times in five minutes! Me and the staff had a laugh and they told me they sometimes even read the paper four or five times a day, since they have already forgotten everything! Funny.


After we had our lunch, me and Danielle, the activites coordinator, set up a game called hoops&buckets for the residents. The goal was to throw a little ball from a few meters in either a hoop (and it shouldn't roll out) or in a bucket, and you were rewarded points when you succeeded in doing so. All of the residents enjoyed it very much and they were all having a good time. 


When the game was over, it was time for dinner. The menu today was lentil soup and sausage rolls or lentil soup and a pineapple salad. I chose the salad and it was very tasty. When we had finished our meals, my day had finished too.


Friday, 2nd of May


Today was the sunniest day yet. It was the first time I could use my sunglasses in Scotland! After I had made myself a breakfast consisting of 2 boiled eggs, 2 toasts with jam and a glass of orange juice, my day started at the Bungalow at 9.30 AM. There was not much going on, my tasks were observing and helping out. 


At 1.30 PM they had planned a beachwalk from Inverbervie to Gourdon with Scott and two staff members. I joined in and while on our walk, we took some pictures of the beautiful landscapes around us. When we arrived in Gourdon, we went to the Fish&Chip shop for lunch. Gourdon is a great town, everything is in the theme of fishing and sea. We enjoyed our meals and after that, my shift at the Bungalow had finished. 


At around 3.30 PM I went to Clashfarquhar and I got offered a cup of tea right away, ofcourse I didn't refuse that and, while drinking our tea, we watched a movie with the residents. After it had finished, everyone tidied up for supper. The menu for today was pasta with cheese and it was very enjoyable. After that, my shift at Clashfarquhar had finished and so had my day.


Cheers


  • 05 Mei 2014 - 22:27

    Hanneke Moors:

    Good to read that you enjoy yourself in Scotland. Have you learned the accent yet?
    Enjoy your final week!

  • 06 Mei 2014 - 19:48

    Rens Kooken:

    I'm trying to! Haha
    Thank you!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rens

This log is about my internship in Stonehaven

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 147
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3413

Voorgaande reizen:

Landen bezocht: