Saturday and Sunday - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu Saturday and Sunday - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu

Saturday and Sunday

Door: Rens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rens

11 Mei 2014 | Nederland, Amsterdam

Saturday, the 10th of May


Today would be my last full day in Scotland. Tom and I had planned a lot of fun things to do, so I was really looking forward to it. 


After I made myself a delicious breakfast at 9 AM, I showered and dressed myself, all ready and set to go. Tom and I would meet at the trainstation, since we were going to Aberdeen. While in the train, we enjoyed the beautiful landscapes of Scotland. 


When we arrived, we went on a walk along the beach of Aberdeen. Aberdeen is the main city for off-shore work and since Tom works off-shore, he could tell me a lot about the things going on in the harbour of Aberdeen. It was a nice walk and after half an hour, we arrived at the golf course of Aberdeen. Tom's hobby is golfing, so he figured to take me golfing. 


Equipped with 100 balls and a club each, we went to the driving range. I had never golfed before, so after Tom taught me the basics, we went to hit some balls. It was so much fun! I had some great shots, the furthest hit was about 170 yards, which is about 153 metres! (1 yard is 0.9 metre) The only downside is that I left the golf course with a bruise on my thumb, haha. 


After that we went to see Euna, who was shopping in Aberdeen. Tom and I figured we were up for a drink, so the three of us went to a pub. The pub was ghosty/creepy themed and looked really cool. The toilet was even hidden in a bookshelf! 

A pint of Guinness later, we went to a hamburger restaurant to have our dinner. It was tasty! 


We didn't have any plans for the evening, so we decided to go to the cinema. We picked the movie 'Blue Ruin' and it was a good thriller.

When the movie had finished, it was already 8 pm. I had to catch my train at half past 9, so we still had 1.5 hour left. 


Since I had not drank any Scotch whiskey yet, we decided to go to a bar to do some whiskey tasting. As you need to learn drinking whiskey, it wasn't really delicious but oh well, we did have some good fun! 


The last thing we did this day was having a 'coffee' at Starbucks. I had a strawberry frappucino and it was very nice! 

When we finished it, we went to the trainstation, because I needed to catch my train to Stonehaven.

I had a really nice day so I can look back to a great last full day in Scotland!


Cheers!



Sunday, the 11th of May (leaving day)


Today would be my very last day in Scotland already.. It's been such a fast two weeks! I had a long sleep-in this morning and I spent the morning (what was still left of it) and a bit of the afternoon packing my stuff and cleaning everything up. At 2.30 Tom and Euna picked me up to go to Aberdeen airport. A final goodbye to everyone and there we went, away from Stonehaven. When we arrived there, Tom and Euna 'waved me out' and from that moment on, my journey back to Holland started. 


I had two flights planned, one from Aberdeen to Amsterdam and one from Amsterdam to Dusseldorf.

Everyone, including me, was already sitting in the airplane to Amsterdam when we got the bad news that we were delayed 1.5 hours because of the stormy weather in Amsterdam. Not a great start of my journey.. Even worse was that I had a big chance of not getting my 2nd flight, so it would be a race against the clock. After 1 hour and 15 minutes the pilot finally received permission to start the motors. He also got permission to cut some off on the route, so that people like me could catch their second flight.  


When we arrived, I only had ten minutes (!) left to get on the airplane to Dusseldorf. I ran all the way, so I was pretty exhausted at the end (Schiphol is huge!). When I finally got into the plane, I thought nothing could go wrong anymore from this point on. Wrong! 


When we arrived at the airport, we went to the baggage reclaim. You can already guess what happened: my bag was lost! After an hour of searching I gave up. Along with a few other people from the same flight who had lost their bags, we went to the Lost&Found. The reason my bag wasn't in Dusseldorf was because of the delayal in Aberdeen. Because I had so less time in Amsterdam to catch my flight, the employees of Schiphol were not able to load my bag from the airplane to Amsterdam in the airplane to Dusseldorf anymore. Couldn't they have told me that earlier?!


Along with an apology-receipt from KLM, I went to see my dad, who was already waiting for quite a long time there. I explained him everything and then we went home. It was already 10 past midnight and we still had a one-hour drive to go.. We got home at 20 past 1, where we found mum still waiting for us. We had a little catch-up talk and after that I went to see my bed. This would be a short night, because it was already school tomorrow..


Good night.

P.s. my bag is found already, :) it'll be sent home as quickly as possible.

 


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rens

This log is about my internship in Stonehaven

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1098
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3413

Voorgaande reizen:

Landen bezocht: