My weekend - Reisverslag uit Stonehaven, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu My weekend - Reisverslag uit Stonehaven, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu

My weekend

Door: Rens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rens

03 Mei 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Stonehaven

Saturday, 3th of May 2014


Today was my first day off in Stonehaven. Euna, a very nice lady whom I set up this internship with and the wife of my cousin, planned to go on a picnic with me and her friend in Banchory at the Crathes Castle. Great idea! I was excited to go and meet Euna for the first time.


After I've woken up from a long sleep at 11 AM, I made myself a tasty breakfast. With my belly filled all up again, Euna picked me up and we drove to a friend of her, Lorna, which was also a very nice lady. (I'm starting to get the impression that there are only nice people in Stonehaven!) 


The three of us drove to Crathes Castle, Euna's favorite, located in Banchory. Euna and Lorna brought all kinds of food with them, and as Euna is a vegan, I had the chance to try out what Scottish vegan food tastes like. Delicious!! 


We were lucky today, because there was a little 'play' going on in the field where the actors simulated a battle between the Scottish and the British. It was quite fun and it was also my first time seeing Scottish people wearing kilts! I wondered if they wore underwear underneath it.. After the play had finished, we decided to go and have a look inside Crathes Castle. It was quite impressive. 


Joan (Euna's mother where I stayed the first night) had kindly offered us to have dinner and spend the night at her place. Of course we agreed and we had a great dinner. We spent the night drinking tea and watching the British television.


After all, you could say that this day was a great succes!




Sunday, the 4th of may


After I woke up from my sleep at around 10 AM, I started the day with a good breakfast. It was the same as all other days: 3 to 4 toasts with butter and jam, two boiled eggs and apple or orange juice.


Earlier this week, Susan, the manager of Clashfarquhar, had given me leaflets and tourist information flyers of Stonehaven. I read through them and I came to the decision that I needed to see Stonehavens harbour, Dunottar Castle, Aunty Betty's, and a Scottish pub. I had all day long to visit these 4 things. 


Firstly, I went to Stonehavens harbour. It was really nice and because it's the 5th of May (cinqo de Mayo) tomorrow, everybody will have a day off. As a result of that, it was really crowded at the harbour. Everybody was sitting outside in the sun drinking pints; the atmosphere was lovely.


Secondly, I went on a walk to Dunottar Castle. The castle is located at the top of a hill and it is 2.5 miles away from the harbour. The path leading to the castle is right through the landscapes of Stonehaven. The views were amazing. When at the top of the path, you could see all over Stonehaven city, the harbour, and the beautiful landscapes. After having had a quick look at the World War monument, I went inside the castle. It was really nice and impressive. Daniel Radcliffe, also known as Harry Potter, and his crew were filming his new movie called Frankenstein 4 weeks ago at Dunottar Castle! So it's a shame that I didn't arrive in Stonehaven 4 weeks earlier. 


Afterwards, I went on a walk to Aunty Betty's. It's a really famous ice cream shop in Stonehaven.Unfortunately when I got there, there was a queue of at least 25 metres.. I figured I had to taste this famous icecream, so I decided to join the queue. Half an hour later, it was my turn and I chose 3 scoops of Irn Bru, strawberry and white chocolate (Irn Bru is a really popular drink in Scotland). They topped the icecream with a lot of candy and it was delicious. 


The last thing of my bucket-list while being on this internship was visiting a Scottish pub and trying out all kinds of different Scottish beer.Together with Euna I went to two pubs and I tried out a lot of Scottish beers. They were all delicious! A nice thing about Scotland is that it's usual to drink pints. Pint glasses are a lot bigger than Dutch glasses (560 mL compared to 220 mL) and look much nicer.


The time flew and it was already half past midnight. The pub closed and that concluded my sunday. I needed some sleep, because my alarm was set for 8 AM...


Good night.


  • 07 Mei 2014 - 22:56

    Euna:

    ooft, i needed to recover from that cucumber corona! hopefully tommy takes you whisky tasting ;-)

  • 07 Mei 2014 - 23:05

    Euna:

    p.s. you didn't mention you ended up in the middle of a hen party in the pub!

  • 08 Mei 2014 - 10:12

    Marjan:

    ha Rens, alles goed daar lees ik! In ieder geval kom je niet om van de honger met al die fish and chips en cups of tea and biscuits! Fijn dat het leuk is daar. Misschien heb je een nieuwe roeping als bejaardenverzorger? Zit in ieder geval wel toekomst in haha...
    Veel plezier nog en kun je het dialect een beetje aan daar?

    groeten uit Italie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rens

This log is about my internship in Stonehaven

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 167
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3409

Voorgaande reizen:

Landen bezocht: