Thursday and Friday - Reisverslag uit Stonehaven, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu Thursday and Friday - Reisverslag uit Stonehaven, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu

Thursday and Friday

Door: Rens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rens

09 Mei 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Stonehaven

Thursday, the 8th of May


My day started at 9.30 at Clashfarquhar House. Susan, the manager, had arranged that I could join the Daycare Centre today, which is located at the bottom floor of Clashfarquhar. The Daycare Centre is a centre for elderly people from the region to meet each other and play some little games. 


So, after I had finished my breakfast, I went to the Daycare Centre. First of all the elderley had some tea and toast. When they had finished it, we played darts. It was good fun and everyone enjoyed it. I ended up on 4th place. At noon it was time for lunch, which consisted of lentil soup, lasagne and ginger mandarine icecream. It was seriously tasty! We played a few games of dominos afterwards. Meanwhile, the time had already flew to 2.30 PM, which meant it was time to go to the Bungalow. 


I had nothing planned at the Bungalow, but the manager decided that they needed some garden furniture for in the summer. So we went to the ASDA, a 24-hour opened (!) mega-supermarket, and we bought a little table and a few chairs for outside in the summer. The rest of my shift at the Bungalow was just observing and helping where needed.



Friday, the 10th of May


Very unfortunately, today was my last working day already :-( I would start my shift at the Bungalow and end it at 6PM at Clashfarquhar. 


When I arrived at the Bungalow, everyone of the staff was busy getting the disabled people up. I gave a helping hand where I could. After the disabled people had gotten up and after they had been fed, we could start our breakfast. Emily brought scones with her. Scones are kind of like bagels, but a bit more softer and you can have scones with different sorts of fruit or honey in them. They were delicious! After that, I was completely flabergasted when they suddenly gave me a bag full of presents and a card! The presents were: a mug with typical Scottish chocolate cakes decprated on it; the chocolate cakes itself; a candy-stick with a picture of Stoney on it and lastly a card on which everyone had written something. Wow!  How nice! They said they were very fortunate to have me and they even wanted me to come back one day. Definitely! I also brought a present, but that was tiny compared to theirs. I brought some gingerbread, in Holland it's called ontbijtkoek. It's a typical dutch thing and fortunately they liked it. After that I went to Edzell Park with Doreen and Scott. The views were truly beautiful! We had a cup of tea in the restaurant and I tried some Dumplin cake, a typical Scottish cake. I liked it! That was my last activity in the Bungalow. After a final goodbye I went to Clashfarquhar.


The day at Clash would consist of Holland-talk and dinner. We talked about Holland and everyone seemed to have fun. For the second time today, I was completely flabergasted when all of a sudden Leslie, one of the residents, came in with all kinds of presents and a card! Again, I had not expected that.. The presents were all lovely: a bagpipe magnet; a box of fudge with a picture of Dunottar Castle on it; a tin box consisting of shortbread biscuits; a card on which all of the residents and staff had written something and because I said I loved the Scottish food, they brought me a Scottish cooking book! Awesome, I can now enjoy Scottish food wherever I am. Wow. I gave them gingerbread and they liked it as well. The dinner was tasty and my shift was done. I would come back sunday for a final goodbye. To all of you guys of the Bungalow and Clashfarquhar: you were great! 


I met Tom at 18:30, my dutch cousin and husband of Euna, whom I hadn't seen in 3 years! Our plan was to go pubbing in Stonehaven. We walked to the harbour and we went to the Marine. The marine was a harbour/fishing/marine themed pub and it looked very nice and cosy. We ordered Tennents, a delicious scottish beer and we had a lot to talk about, since we hadn't seen each other in 3 years! 

After a while, suddenly Emily, the administrator of the bungalow walked in! She also had the plan to go pubbing with her friends. We sat with each other and had great fun. 

They had to leave so Tom and I went to The Royal, a cool pub on the market square. With company of a nice cold pint, we talked about a lot of things. 

Suddenly the man shouted "Last Orders", which meant the pub was about to close and it was the last time to order something. The time flew and it was already half past 1 in the morning! As the pub closed, my day ended as well. Bedtime.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rens

This log is about my internship in Stonehaven

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 133
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3413

Voorgaande reizen:

Landen bezocht: