Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday - Reisverslag uit Stonehaven, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday - Reisverslag uit Stonehaven, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rens Kooken - WaarBenJij.nu

Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday

Door: Rens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rens

07 Mei 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Stonehaven

Monday the 5th of May


Today was Mayday Holiday for the UK and that meant almost everybody had a day off. Of course the staff at the Bungalow and Clasfarquhar couldn't have that day off, because the disabled people at the Bungalow and the elderley at Clashfarquhar still needed to be cared for.


My day started at the Bungalow at 9.30 AM and they had planned a great morning for me. Abi's birthday was coming up on Tuesday, so as a pre-gift for her birthday, she, Edward, me, Hazel and Jackie went bowling! (Abi and Edward are the disabled persons from The Bungalow and Hazel and Jackie are the staff)


We went to a leisure park in Aberdeen to the bowling centre and it was quite busy; probably because (almost) everybody had a day off. The bowling was really fun and enjoying and I won with a score of 106 points :)


Afterwards, we went to the Burger King for lunch. Yes, lunch! Of course it was a great lunch and with full bellies, we drove back to the Bungalow. When we arrived, it was already half past 2 and that meant my shift there was done.


I went to Clashfarquhar and I had a relaxing afternoon: sitting on the couch watching tv, drinking tea and chatting with the elderley. We had a nice dinner and before I knew, my 'working' day had finished. 



Tuesday, the 6th of May


Today was a very short day with only one thing on the planning: Abi's birthday. She was turning 32 today. After my usual breakfast, I went to the Bungalow. We decorated the living room with a lot of balloons and decorations. Abi was still sleeping, so we woke her up with a birthday song. She was very excited! After she opened her presents, we all enjoyed a delicious piece of cake and after that, I went to Clashfarquhar. 


There was not much going on at Clashfarquhar. I joined the residents on the couch for the rest of the afternoon. At around half past 5, we enjoyed ourselves with a nice dinner. After we cleaned up all the tables, we watched television for the rest of the evening.



Wednesday, the 7th of May


Wednesday was the same as Tuesday: a very short day with not much going on. I started the day at the Bungalow and after breakfast, we did some devotions. The rest of the morning consisted of observing and helping out where it was needed. I would spend the afternoon at Clashfarquhar, so I went there at 2.30 PM.


When I came in, all residents and a few staff members were singing hymnes with assistance of a woman playing the piano. I joined them and it was quite funny. When everyone finished dinner, I met Carrie. Carrie is an 18 year old girl who was having exams at the moment. She's a nice lady. Me, Carrie and 2 of the elderley spent the evening playing Scrabble. It was quite funny, although I was really rubbish at it. And that was it for today already, a very short day.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rens

This log is about my internship in Stonehaven

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 129
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3412

Voorgaande reizen:

Landen bezocht: